top of page
  • Writer's pictureogredale

Skinwalker theory and experience

This an entire post based on skinwalkers. This is one of my favorite cryptids and it gets my brain going.

If you don't know what a skinwalker is, read this!

My definition of a skinwalker is a supernatural being that is humanoid in shape but has the ability to disguise itself as an animal or even human. This is either done by killing the animal or human to gain their look.

 

My theory is that there are multiple types of skinwalkers, a least two. The first type is a skinny humanoid that runs around very fast and inhumanly. I believe that these are the most common type of skinwalker because they are the most common. I believe that these types are the type to morph into humans as they are the most human-like. When they disguise as a human they try their best to be normal and seek out other prey to kill and disguise as. This type has to kill people to be able to disguise as them, this makes sense because if it didn't kill then there would be two of the same person walking around. It just seems fair too. The few pictures below is what I think the look like.


The two images above this text appear to be more real than the right image. I picked these photos because it shows how skinny and human they are. At the same time, they are very inhuman. Out of the two types, these are the most human-like. That is why I think these are the human shapeshifters.

 



The second type of skinwalker is more dangerous but rarer than type 1. Type 2 are large, skinny, humanoids that wear animal bones and skin. Unlike the previous type discusses, type 2 shapeshift into animals instead of humans. For example, a bear, deer, wolf. Type 2 shifting into an animal smaller than itself is illogical but it could happen. It is similar in appearance to a wendigo, one could say they are the same thing...

I have reason to believe that both the skinwalker types are in some sort of agreement or alliance. Type 2 is a lot smarter than type 1 so it would make sense if they were the leaders or organizers of this alliance. Maybe type 1 does all the human killing and blending while type 2 observes people disguised as an animal. Who knows.


These two photos are what the type 2 skinwalkers look like. As I said, they are very similar in appearance to a Wendigo. This brings up the idea that a Wendigo is actually a skinwalker. It would make sense as Wendigos eat human flesh and being able to disguise as an animal would help a lot. This would also give them a purpose to mess with humans.

 

My experience

I was at a fourth of July party about a year ago or so. We were sitting in lawn chairs waiting for the organizers to set up the fireworks, of us was a tree line that led into a wooded area. As the night got darker, I swear I could see humanoid figures walking around the tree lines. There were multiple of them, all humanoid and walking on two legs. They were just scurrying around the line and watching us I guess. I'm not 100% sure about the next details but it makes sense. I watched one of them come out of the tree line and appear to morph into a human and walk around like nothing was wrong. I did not recognize the person it morphed into but it didn't cause much suspicion with the other attendees.

I am 100% sure that what I was seeing was a type 1 skinwalker. None of them provoked or attacked anyone, just watched us cautiously and one decided to have a look. It would make sense for them to be curious of what was happening. I didn't see a type 2 skinwalker (thankfully) but then again it was dark and there were a lot of trees.

That is my only experience with a skinwalker so far. Maybe some of the people I've met are actually skinwalkers or the stuff I've seen. I will have to figure that out, or maybe not.

 

Resources

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page